Finals Preview & Stats

Both finals are repeats from the last tournament held in front of the Pyramids, the Al Ahram Open of 2016, but this time the men will play first, with the women competing for not only the world title, but for the first time ever, greater prize money than the men.

Top seed and World Champion Ali Farag takes on compatriot Karim Abdel Gawad, the fourth seed who prevailed here in 2016, then Raneem El Welily will attempt to repeat her 2016 win here over Nour El Sherbini, to reclaim the world title from Sherbini’s grasp.

As well as the Al Ahram Final, Welily and Sherbini have contested two previous World Championship Finals – April 2017 in El Gouna and November 2017 in Manchester – Nour won in Gouna, Raneem in Manchester.

In all this is Nour’s SIXTH World Champs Final, and Raneem’s fourth.

2013 Penang Laura Massaro 3-2 Nour El Sherbini
2014 Cairo Nicol David 3-2 Raneem El Welily
2015 Kuala Lumpur Nour El Sherbini 3-2 Laura Massaro
2016 El Gouna Nour El Sherbini 3-0 Raneem El Welily
2017 Manchester Raneem El Welily 3-2 Nour El Sherbini
2018 Chicago Nour El Sherbini 3-2 Nour El Tayeb